India making BIG in the T-20 series, defeated Australia by 27 runs to seal T-20 series

India making BIG in the T 20 series defeated Australia by 27 runs to seal T 20 series pardesi news 1459247785

The buoyant Indian cricket team thrashed Australia by 27 runs in the second T-20 international to seal the series, its first series victory of any kind in Australia in last 8 years.

India produced an all-round performance to claim an impressive 27-run win over Australia in the second Twenty20 international and in the process took an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match T-20 series at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Put in to bat first, the tourists posted a daunting target of 185, thanks to an explosive start from the opening pair of Rohit Sharma (60) and Shikhar Dhawan (42) before Virat Kohli, consolidated the innings by making a swashbuckling unbeaten 59 off just 33 balls. Virat maintained his prolific form from the one-dayers and was adjudged the Player of the Match.

In reply, Australia could just manage 157/8 in their stipulated 20 overs despite Australian Captain Aaron Finch's brisk knock of 74 off 48 deliveries.  For India, all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah claimed two wickets apiece, while Yuvraj Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin and all-rounder Hardik Pandya shared three wickets between them.

Australia has made six changes in the side from their last defeat.

India will play the inconsequential third T-20 against Australia in Sydney on Sunday, 31st January.

Importantly this is India's first series victory of any kind in Australia since the summer of Monkey gate, way back in 2007-08.

Congratulating the victories, the master blaster Sachin tweeted – “Sania adds another Slam, Indian Women Cricket team wins, Indian Cricket team wins series. All in a day at Melbourne! Congratulations and Well Done to each one of you!!!”.

In an incredible feat, Indian tennis ace Sania Mirza and her Swiss partner Martina Hingis beat seventh seeded Czech combination of Andrea Hlavá?ková and Lucie Hradecká in straight sets to win the Australian Open at the Rod Laver Arena. The Indian women’s cricket team also scripted history by clinching its maiden T-20 series win over three-time world champion Australia with a comprehensive 10-wicket triumph in the rain-truncated second game, also played in Melbourne.

About the author

Patrick Callahan

Pardesi News Reporter

Pardesi News Reporter

Leave a Comment

Select your Current City