Know Yogi Adityanath, the 21st CM of UP

Know Yogi Adityanath the 21st CM of UP pardesi news 1490677811

BJP leader and five-time Parliamentarian, Yogi Adityanath was sworn-in as the 21st Chief Minister of India's largest state - Uttar Pradesh.

Five-time Parliamentarian and BJP’s firebrand leader Yogi Adityanath, 44, was recently sworn in as the 21st Chief Minister (CM) of Uttar Pradesh. Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma were sworn in as Deputy CMs. They were administered the oath to the office and secrecy by Governor Ram Naik at oath taking ceremony held in Kanshiram Smriti Upvan in Lucknow.

Yogi Adityanath is an Indian priest and politician with an image as a Hindutva (Hindu nationalist) "firebrand".  Besides them 47-member council of ministers consisting of 22 cabinet ministers, 9 ministers of state (MoS) with independent charge and 13 ministers of states (MoS) also took oath.  The cabinet has 5 female ministers and 1 Muslim Minster, Mohsin Raza.

In the recently concluded state elections, the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) had won the 17th Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly election by winning 312 seats of the total 403 seats. BJP’s allies Apna Dal (Sonelal) and Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party won 9 and 4 seats respectively. Samajwadi Party had won 47 seats, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) won 19 seats and Congress had won 7 seats. The election was held from 11 February to 8 March 2017 in 7 phases with voter turnout of 60-61% compared to 59.48% in 2012 elections.

Indian PM  Narendra Modi congratulated Yogi Adityanath after he took over as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. Expressing confidence that the newly elected chief minister of the state and his team will leave no stone unturned in developing Uttar Pradesh, he tweeted, “I have immense confidence that this new team will leave no stone upturned in making UP Uttam Pradesh. There will be record development. Our sole mission and motive is development. When Uttar Pradesh develops, India develops. We want to serve UP’s youth and create opportunities for them”.

Yogi Adityanath was born as Ajay Singh Bisht in Panchur, Pauri Garhwal district in then undivided Uttar Pradesh (now in Uttarakhand). He had renounced his family at the age of 21 and became a disciple of Mahant Avaidyanath, then the head priest of Gorakhnath Math. He was promoted to the rank of Mahant of Guru Gorakhnath Temple, following the death of his spiritual father Mahant Aavaidyanath during September 2014. He is also the founder of the Hindu Yuva Vahini. He has been the Member of Parliament from the Gorakhpur constituency, Uttar Pradesh for five consecutive terms since 1998 (1998, 1999, 2004, 2009 and 2014). He was the youngest member of the 12th Lok Sabha at 26. Interestingly, Adityanath has praised the US President Donald Trump's decision to enact a ban on citizens from 7 Muslim-majority countries entering the United States and has called for India to adopt similar policies to tackle terrorism. 

About the author

Patrick Callahan

Pardesi News Reporter

Pardesi News Reporter

Leave a Comment

Select your Current City